PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet us via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

Iowa hasn’t relaxed the rules on marijuana: Here’s what you should know

On Behalf of | Jun 14, 2021 | Drug Charges |

Unlike several other states, Iowa takes a harsh stance against cannabis. Unless you have a qualifying medical condition, it is against the law to possess any form of cannabis.

Even having marijuana paraphernalia in your possession can lead to a misdemeanor conviction resulting in a jail sentence and a fine.

What are the laws governing marijuana in Iowa?

According to Norml, possessing any amount of marijuana in this state is a misdemeanorA conviction for a first offense results in six months of jail time and a $1,000 fine. A second conviction for possessing any amount will lead to a year in jail and nearly $2,000 in fines. Other penalties include:

  • A third offense conviction for possessing any amount of cannabis is still a misdemeanor, but the penalties increase to two years behind bars and fines of more than $6,000.
  • Cultivating and distributing marijuana are felony offenses. The penalties for these offenses range from five years of incarceration and $7,500 in fines to ten years in prison and a $100,000 fine.
  • The most severe consequences for convictions involving cultivating and distributing cannabis occur when minors are involved or if the illegal activities occur near educational facilities or vehicles.

As you can see, drug charges involving marijuana can take a harsh toll on your entire life if convicted. You could lose your freedom, your personal relationships and even some of your rights as an American citizen.

Creating a solid defense can help you avoid a conviction on drug charges involving marijuana. If you choose to seek assistance from a professional, your odds of acquiring a favorable outcome in your case can improve even more.

FindLaw Network