PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet us via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

Will you lose your license after an OWI arrest in Iowa?

Anyone in Iowa accused of operating while intoxicated (OWI) could face jail time, major fines and the loss of their driver’s license. Unlike the financial penalties and incarceration you could face, the suspension of your license is an administrative penalty.

The state will likely revoke your license if you fail a breath test during a traffic stop or refuse a breath test and violate the state’s implied consent law. That means you can’t drive anymore unless you go to court. How do you protect yourself and your license?

You can ask for a hearing to contest your license revocation

If you get arrested for an OWI, you have 10 days to file paperwork with the state if you want to challenge the loss of your license. Otherwise, you will likely go 180 days or longer without your license.

If you ask for a hearing, you can defend your license. You are allowed to work with a criminal defense attorney just like you can when you go to court later to deal with the charges.

You can fight the OWI charges

If the state suspends your license not for refusing a test but for an alleged OWI offense, successfully defending against that charge will make it easier for you to get your license back. You may be able to bypass the rest of the suspension and avoid requirements to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

The sooner you start planning to protect your license and avoid a conviction, the greater your chances are of succeeding. An experienced attorney can help you.